The following list describes a selection of bodies and documents relevant to university governance. It is intended as a glossary and first overview, but it is not a comprehensive list.

# Glossary

Documents	2
Universitätsgesetz (UG): Universities Act 2002	2
Satzungsteil: Studienrechtliche Bedingungen: Statutory part of the	study regulations 2
Organisationsplan: Organisational Chart	2
Bodies	2
Universitätsrat ("Unirat"): University Council	2
Rektorat: Rectorate	2
Senat: Senate	2
Curriculakommission (CuKo): Curriculum Committee	2
Habilitationskommission: Habilitation Commission	3
Berufungskommission: Appointment/Tenure Committee	3
Fakultäten: Faculties	3
Fakultätsgremium: Faculty Board	3
Study-related roles	4
Studiendirektor:in: Director of Studies	4
Dekan:in: Dean	4
Studiendekan:in: Dean of Studies	4

#### **Documents**

Universitätsgesetz (UG): Universities Act 2002

Legal basis for the organisation of universities and their study programmes. More information:  $UG\ 2002^1$ 

Satzungsteil: Studienrechtliche Bedingungen: Statutory part of the study regulations

Provisions under the law regulating university studies<sup>2</sup>

Organisationsplan: Organisational Chart

Organisational Chart of the University of Graz as of February 2021<sup>3</sup>. There is also a visual overview of the university structure<sup>4</sup>.

#### **Bodies**

Universitätsrat ("Unirat"): University Council

The university council works for a period of five years and is the oversight committee for the university. 4 members are delegated by the Ministry of Education, 4 members by the Senate and one member which is elected by the other members. It elects the rector from a three-person selection made by the senate. See university act UG § 21.

Rektorat: Rectorate

Elected for a four-year term by the university council. The rector nominates vice-rectors who are again selected by the university council. Responsible for managing the university, the budget and negotiations with the ministry for education. See university act UG § 22 et seq.

Senat: Senate

Works for a period of three years and has 26 members (13 professors, 6 Mittelbau, 6 students, 1 non-academic staff). See university act UG § 25.

Curriculakommission (CuKo): Curriculum Committee

Is responsible e.g. for planning the course programme of a study programme and allocating a certain number of ECTS-Credits to specific modules/courses. Is a sub-commission of the senate (therefore works for the same duration as the senate). Made up of a third professors, a third Mittelbau and a third students. The curriculum committees are appointed by the senate to develop the curriculums.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See <u>RIS - Universitätsgesetz 2002 - Bundesrecht konsolidiert, Fassung vom 18.05.2022 (bka.gv.at)</u> [18.05.2022]

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See Study Law - Academic Affairs (uni-graz.at) [23.05.2022]

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See <a href="https://intranet.uni-graz.at/wissenswertes/rechtliches/Verordnungen/Organisationsplan\_2021.pdf">https://intranet.uni-graz.at/wissenswertes/rechtliches/Verordnungen/Organisationsplan\_2021.pdf</a> [18.05.2022]

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> See <u>organigramm\_2019.indd (uni-graz.at)</u> [18.05.2022]

#### Habilitationskommission: Habilitation Commission

Is a sub-commission of the senate and works for the duration of a habilitation procedure. Consists of (assistant) professors, external professors and students.

#### Berufungskommission: Appointment/Tenure Committee

Is a sub-commission of the senate and works for the duration of an appointment procedure. Consists of (assistant) professors, external professors and students.

#### Fakultäten: Faculties

A Faculty is an organisational unit encompassing both teaching and research work. The University of Graz has 6 Faculties (Catholic-Theology; Law; Business, Economics and Social Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Natural Sciences; Environmental and Regional Sciences and Education). Each Faculty is headed by a Dean, appointed by the rectorate for a two-year-term. See § 20 para. 5 UG.

### Fakultätsgremium: Faculty Board

Works for a duration of two years, member ratio structured similar to the Senate with student representatives in addition. Main tasks for the Faculty Board include involvement in the appointment of the dean; discussion of faculty resources; consultation on, among other things, teaching and study matters, research matters, internationalization, appointment and habilitation matters, equal opportunity issues; mediation within the faculty.

Arbeitskreis für Gleichbehandlungsfragen (AKGL): Working Group for Equal Opportunities

The AKGL is anchored by § 42 UG 2002. It has 24 members and 12 substitute members and is headed by a chairperson. It is involved in all personnel procedures at the university. Its main tasks are to protect against discrimination, to avoid disadvantages and to increase the number of female employees, especially in management positions. Academic and non-academic staff, as well as students, can contact the AKGL on issues of protection against discrimination, advancement of women, harassment or in cases of mobbing in connection with discrimination.

Betriebsrat für das wissenschaftliche Personal (BRwiss): Employees' Council for the Academic Staff

One of the most essential tasks of the Employees' Council is to advise the academic university staff and to represent their interests vis-à-vis the employer (Rector, Rectorate, etc.). The general representation of the staff's interests takes place in negotiations with the rectorate, participation in numerous working and project groups as well as in statements on laws and ordinances.

Ethikkommission: Ethics Committee

Elected by the University Council for four years. The committee consists of seven members: one member each from the fields of theology, philosophy, natural sciences, law, and social and economic sciences, as well as two external members. The committee elects a chairperson for the duration of the term. Main tasks of the committee include: Statements, recommendations or guidelines on ethical issues in research and teaching raised by technological and scientific progress, as well as on ethically relevant questions of the duties and standards of conduct of scientists.

## Study-related roles

Studiendirektor:in: Director of Studies

The Director of Studies is elected by the Senate for a three-year term. The Director of Studies is responsible for the implementation of the provisions of study law. He/She is responsible for the coordination and planning of study matters and teaching. Their duties include, for example, the organization of studies and teaching, the organization of board examinations, and the securing of sufficient places in courses. For the execution of these tasks, they commission the deans of studies.

Dekan:in: Dean

The Dean is the head of the organisational unit referred to as a faculty and is appointed by the rectorate for a two-year-term. However, the term of office of the dean shall end in any case with the end of the term of office of the rectorate.

Studiendekan:in: Dean of Studies

. The Dean of Studies is nominated from the university professors and appointed for two years by a specially appointed committee. They are responsible for the organization of teaching at the faculty. As with the dean, the term of office of the dean of studies also ends with the term of office of the rectorate