Global Climate Solidarity of Faculties and Schools of Science

Declaration, January 2015

The undersigned representatives of Faculties and Schools of Science declare their support for the main current findings of leading climate scientists, as formulated and explained in the Fifth Assessment Report (2013/2014) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC; www.ipcc.ch). We regard this report as comprehensive and insightful.

We are concerned that the threat of dangerous climate change will become reality in the coming decades and centuries unless global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions are rapidly and radically reduced in the coming years. According to the IPCC, dangerous warming exceeding 2°C can only be avoided if global GHG emissions stop growing by about 2020 and approach zero by about 2070. This goal will not be reached without substantial political changes.

As scientists in other areas, we cannot directly confirm the details of this research. We can, however, confirm that the measurement and modeling techniques and the peer-review procedures of climate scientists correspond to the highest international standards. We therefore have no reason to doubt the main conclusions of the IPCC reports.

During the 20th century, international politics reacted responsibly to other threats. Scientists explained the function of the ozone layer, leading to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, in force since 1989. Scientists established why forests were dying and engineers developed strategies to control industrial emissions, leading to the 1985 Helsinki Protocol on the Reduction of Sulphur Emissions, in force since 1987. Global warming poses an even greater threat. If we are to respond adequately in the interest of our children and future generations, politicians and the general public must heed the warnings of recognized global communities of scientists.

Procedure

The Faculty of Science, University of Graz, Austria formulated and unanimously supported this declaration at a meeting in January 2015. We are now asking internationally leading climate scientists to present this text to their local Faculties or Schools of Science and to ask for their support. The declaration and a list of those scientific institutions that support it will be presented at or before the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris, France (30 November - 11 December). The conference incorporates COP21 (21st session of the Conference of the Parties of the 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change) and CMP11 (11th session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the 1997 Kyoto Protocol).

Signatories: 23 institutions from 19 countries

Country	Institution	Representative	Function
Austria	Faculty of Natural Sciences, University of Graz	Prof. Karl Crailsheim	Dean
Australia	Faculty of Science, University of New South Wales	Prof. Merlin Crossley	Dean
Belgium	Faculty of Science and Bio-Engineering Sciences, Vrije University of Brussels	Prof. Paul Geerlings	Dean
Brazil	Oceanographic Institute, University of São Paulo	Prof. Frederico Pereira Brandini	Director
Canada	Saint Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia	Dr. Steven Smith	Dean
Canada	Ryerson University, Toronto	Prof. Michael C. Kolios	Associate Dean of Science and Research
Czech Republik	Faculty of Environmental Technology, University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague	Dr. Ing. Vladimír Kočí	Dean
France	Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Paris-Saclay University	Prof. Eric Chassefière	Head
Hong Kong	Faculty of Science, Chinese University of Hong Kong	Prof. Henry Wong	Dean
Hungary	Faculty of Sciences, University of Pécs	Prof. Róbert Gábriel	Dean
Ireland	Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Limerick	Prof. Edmond Magner	Dean
Ireland	Faculty of Science and Engineering, Maynooth University	Dr. Fiona Lyddy	Dean
Italy	Faculty of Science and Technology, Free University of Bolzano-Bozen	Prof. Stefano Cesco; Prof. Fabrizio Mazzetto	Dean; Vice-Dean for Research
Malta	Faculty of Science, University of Malta	Prof. Charles V. Sammut	Dean
Nether- lands	Faculty of Applied Science, Technical University of Delft	Prof. T.H.J.J. Tim van der Hagen	Dean
Pakistan	Faculty of Science, University of Gujrat	Prof. Muhammad Faheem Malik	Dean
Portugal	Faculty of Science, University of Lisboa	Prof. José Artur Martinho Simões	Director
Serbia	Faculty of Science, University of Novi Sad	Prof. Neda Mimica Dukic	Dean
Spain	Faculty of Science, University of Vigo	Prof. Pedro A. Araujo	Dean
Sweden	Faculty of Science, Stockholm University	Prof. Anders Karlhede	Dean
Switzer- land	Faculty of Science, University of Basel	Prof. Moritz Lehmann	Dean of Research
Switzer- land	Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL	Prof. Konrad Steffen	Director
Switzer- land	University of Freiburg, Faculty of Mathematics and Sciences	Prof. Fritz Müller	Dean